MANual of Style


Products I like: Shirts by Shreyas
30 January, 2010, 10:06 pm
Filed under: Casualwear | Tags: , , ,

Wicked Quick V-Neck Tee

This shirt is great. It’s got some very nice silhouette-shaping details: the textured dye job makes bright areas at the collar and sleeve hems, drawing the eye to the face and to the widest point of the bicept, which is great for making your muscles look bigger. The sleeves are just the right length (Note that if you’ve got especially long or short arms, your results will vary), and the belly area is subtly darker than the chest, for a slimming effect. Plus, that color is amazing. (It comes in a wide variety of colors, some of which are tamer than this.)

The texture also follows my fashion rule: Wear richer, not fussier, fabrics. It looks handmade and is visually interesting, without being a noisy or distracting design. In addition, the cut is obviously very intentional; hems don’t land like that by accident. (I just found the Wicked Quick brand today, actually, and I’m very impressed.)

MK2 Fitted Stretch Cotton Shirt

I really love the arresting color and black details, but the military style is what makes this shirt stand out for me. Military styles have the strong structure to make my shoulders look their straightest and my torso look its leanest, and the epaulets atop the shoulders help add the perception of bulk where it needs to be. The sleeves are long, but can be rolled and buttoned to a shorter length, making for a neater appearance while still keeping things casual. This is definitely a shirt that could be dressed up or down: with a blazer, the double front pockets would disappear, and you’d simply see a tablespoon of well-tailored crimson cotton. It doesn’t hurt that the model is wearing a shade of dark-wash denim that is a staple in my wardrobe; when I first saw this shirt, I said to myself “Oh! That’s a whole outfit for me, right there.” You know an item is worth purchasing when it mentally pulls together an outfit (or two, or three) with items already in your wardrobe.

Of Vice And Virtue Hooded Henley

I’m always on the lookout for warm clothes with interesting necklines—living where I do, it’s hard to be warm and fashionable. Even with the hood up, the lighter-colored lining on this henley draws attention to the face, and the sleeve detail is a nice thing to have peeking out of the cuffs of a jacket. I like the slim cut on this piece, important when you’re layering, and the extra length on the sleeves to help keep my hands warm and add to the slouchy, casual feel. It’s super casual without making you look like a slob.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Shreyas, I just wanted to jump in here and say “I’m still reading your stuff!” I saw a lack of commenting recently, and didn’t want you to get discouraged and quit.

More substantial comments will likely come later, when school assignments slow.

Comment by Joe McDonald

Thanks for the shout-out, Joe! We’re still chugging away happily over here. I’ve got lots more to say.

Comment by Shreyas




Leave a Reply

